Liebster Award!!!!

liebster

You like me! You *really* like me!

You like me! You *really* like me!

*ahem*

Chicken, Eggs, Tomatoes, Superglue, Herbal tea, Fruit…

Dammit. I think this is my grocery list, not my acceptance speech. Where is…? *rummage* No… ah, here it – no, that’s Daniel’s maze for Dungeons, Dungeons and More Dungeons *crash* *tinkletinkle* What is that? An ashtray? What kid makes an ashtray in arts and crafts anymore? *rummage more* Ouch!!!!! dammitdammitdammitgoddamnedpieceofshitmotherfuckingLEGOBLOCK!!!!!!!

I guess I have to do this without a pre-written speech. ‘S’okay, I can bluff this…

Right then. Karen Wardamasky Bobrow nominated my blog for a Liebster Award. The Liebster Award for blogs appears to be a “spread the love and support the bloggers with less than 200 followers” kinda thing. If I’m translating it right, “Liebster” is German for “Dearest” or “Beloved.” It also appears to be a common surname, so either someone German came up with the Liebster Award, or someone with “Liebster” as a surname created it.

But I digress.

Thank you Karen and while everyone is reading this, don’t forget to stop by her place for some tea and blini and a few interesting stories about New Jersey and Russia. No, seriously. The two are related, you just have to connect the dots.

Apparently there are rules for this thing. (What is it with awards and rules?)

Lessee…

Get nominated (did that)

Thank the person who nominated you (did that)

Post a picture of the Award (ummm….Okay, wait, I think I can fit it in if I tweak it here and wear a girdle… hoo-ahh! Just don’t breathe and it’ll be fine…)

Answer 11 questions posed by the nominator (gotta do that)

Offer 10 random facts about yourself (Seriously? What is this? An Interrogation?)

Nominate 5-11 blogs with less than 200 followers (Are you @#$&^#(@%#&^@@^@@@!!!!!! kidding me? Do you know how hard it is to find that?)

Pose 11 questions of your own to the newly nominated (Okay, I’m nosy; I can totally do that.)

Inform the nominated that they’ve been nominated (Hahahahah!! Suckers!)

Run away screaming and laughing “no tag backs”

Onward to my nominator’s questions:

1. What was your motivation to start a blog?

Uhhhhh… everyone says you should if you want to do the Authoring thing. A blog, a Facebook, a Twit account, something. I guess I’m being a lemming.

2. What tips would you give to a new blogger?

Blog about what you like and care about.

3. If you could go back in time who would you like to visit for one day?

J. R. R. Tolkien – in part because of his influence on the fantasy genre, but always because I’m quite nerdy (I’ve read his dissertation on Beowulf)

4. What moment in history, during your lifetime, is the most memorable?

The one that sticks out most in my mind is the Oklahoma City Bombing – I was in college at the time and they had a big screen in the cafeteria running the news during breakfast.  At first I thought it was some story about demolishing a building but as the story was repeated, I realized it was a case of domestic terrorism. As the motivations came out, it struck me as an odd disconnect between people and society in general that’s only been confirmed with research into historical acts of domestic terrorism and the headlines that pop up regularly today.

5. Who is the most influential person in your life?

Probably a man named Mr. Peyton. In 4th grade, Mr. Peyton was long term substitute for my permanent teacher out on maternity leave. During his days he would sometimes tell us stories about his childhood and would mention that he was going to write them all down and publish a book. That was the first time I realized that regular people wrote books and did “special” things with their lives without being spectacularly “special” themselves (like absurdly rich and intelligent while being born under a special confluence of stars or some such).

6. What is your favorite book(s)?

My favs are dependent on my mood, although these days I trend more towards non-fiction with an emphasis on history.

7. Where in the world would you like to go if money was no object?

A better question might be: Where wouldn’t I go? There are so many places and cultures and things I want to experience. But if I have to choose just one, I would have to say Iceland.

8. Name three things that make you happy.

Writing, being artsy-craftsy, and reading.

9. What did you do for fun as a child?

Aside from drive my parents insane? I wrote a lot and read more.

10. Do you, or did you, have a job where writing was part of your job description?

Actually, no. but once people discovered I was a better writer than speaker, I usually got tagged to write up reports and technical manuals explaining in-house procedures and databases.

11. What is your biggest fear?

Like most people I have a number of mundane fears – a slight fear of heights; the cold “Oh shit” feeling you get as parent when a teacher sends home a note about your child; the fear of losing years worth of work no matter how many back-ups were made, and so on.

But if I had to pick my biggest fear, it would have to be lying on my death bed  and having to tell someone that I didn’t do anything I wanted to do, because I was always waiting for the right time.

10 Random facts about yourself:

1 – Gemini (sort of, it depends on the day)

2 – I like vegies

3 – I live in Colorado

4 – I love to swim

5 – I love string, boxes and bags almost as much as I love office supplies

6 – I originally majored as a Theatre Technician, but cracked under the pressure 2 semesters away from graduation

7 – I’m not a very patient person

8 – I was briefly a Certified Neuromuscular Therapist and a Licensed Massage Therapist

9 – I’m a history nerd

10 – I have 3 million hobbies, +/- 27%

Nominate 5-11 blogs with less then 200 followers:

1 – Reality Check by Frank Dorchak 

2 – The BS Historian

3 – Doree Weller

4 – Jean Jaques 

5 – Becca MacLean Lyman

Create 11 questions of your own:

1 – What do you read when you want to relax?

2 – What is one of your hobbies?

3 – If you could spend an hour with one person from any time in history, who would it be and why?

4 – Where is one place you want to visit and why?

5 – Do you have a Bucket List? What are three things on it?

6 – Why did you start blogging?

7 – If you had to choose, would you keep a unicorn as a pet or a dragon? Why?

8 – If you could visit yourself in the past, how old would your younger self be and what advice would you give?

9 – What’s your most favorite word?

10 – If you could have any superpower, what would it be?

11 – What is the craziest thing you’ve ever done? (Triple points for pictures)

Save

About kattywampusbooks

A SAHM with delusions of literacy.
This entry was posted in Humor, People, Random, Uncategorized, Writer, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Liebster Award!!!!

  1. fpdorchak says:

    Dang it, Kattywampusbooks, but thank you! :-] And you are also deserving of this recognition! Thank you for mentioning me and following me. Your posts are amusing and informative! AND you’re a kind, thoughtful person (#WritersToolkit), but that’ll be our little secret….

    Like

Leave a Reply

