Someday

 

lonlieness

Loneliness Photo: MARKOVICH PHOTO ART

I wrote this up after viewing this picture on Markovich Photo Art, shot by Alex Markovich.

(Yes, I know I just put up a CYA post about pictures. I also CYA’ed myself with a screen capture regarding permissions on his blog – so there.)

***

We bought a boat and took it out the same day. We weren’t very good – we ran aground a few times. We had no idea how to use the oars.

In the evening we chained it up, afraid someone would steal it.

“Can we do this again tomorrow?” you asked.

I made a face. “I have work tomorrow.”

“How about this next weekend?”

“I have to travel for work. But we’ll do it again. I promise.”

Time passed. “Let’s use the boat this Saturday.”

“Let’s learn to fish.”

“Let’s take the boat to another lake next month.”

I shook my head. “I’m too busy.”

“I don’t like fish.”

“I’ll think about it.”

I haven’t seen you for a few years. A friend told me you bought a boat. That you knew how to fish. He said you’d been to a great many lakes and rivers. He told me you were sailing the ocean now.

I visited our boat today. It’s exactly where we left it, chained up safe so no one can steal it. It’s rotten and half sunk, with no way to repair it.

I always thought you’d wait.

Tomorrow.

I always thought we had time.

Later.

I never thought you’d leave.

Someday.

About kattywampusbooks

A SAHM with delusions of literacy.
This entry was posted in Random, Uncategorized, Writer, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

