Mercurial Monday Projects

I’m not certain if I can put up anymore “writing tidbits” for a while. I’ve ranted about how writing is kicking my butt right now, and with the holidays and all that associated nonsense, well…

Things are what they are.

So we’re going off-road a little bit. Maybe stir up a little creativity for myself and the masses? Perhaps.

Do you ever write about an object and then have to make/acquire it? As though it were a moral imperative? Or perhaps just to see if it could be done? Maybe just to blow off some steam?

I’ve done it.

ring

by Kattywampusbooks

I’ve made a finger ring from an antler (Drill out the center of a shaft and then cut the buttons).

 

 

 

Learned how to inkle weave my own ribbons (It doesn’t take as long as you would think).

Made a small book (A lot more sewing than people realize.)

book

by Kattywampusbooks

A sculpture (it isn’t awesome and I don’t think this story will be going anywhere, but I still made it anyway).

selkie

art by Kattywampusbooks

A hat (Okay, it isn’t late Victorian/early Edwardian accurate at all, but it was more a proof of concept sort of thing. And I didn’t want to blow $45 just for the pattern to make one. I’m a bit of a cheapskate, sometimes.). Another will probably be made in more conservative colors that I may have lying around.

 

hat

by Kattywampusbooks

I’m working on a dragon sculpture right now. And a wood carved harp hatpin holder, because, you know… hatpins that I may have acquired over the last year.

hat and pins

by Kattywampusbooks

Shut up. I have problems. I am aware of this.

There are other crafty things I have done because of writing.  And crafty things I’ve done and later inserted into the writing (Because when you’ve spent several years beading a fantasy medieval Russian formal, you should use it for more than just 1 or 2 events a year. That counts towards experience points, dammit.)

What things have you done?

About kattywampusbooks

A SAHM with delusions of literacy.
This entry was posted in Random, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

