Pondering Front Matter (3)

Last one – I promise.

I just thought folks might be interested in the verbage of what I came up with for my junk.

That and I also uncovered the fact that some authors are now trying to move as much of the “front matter” as possible to the back, in order to get through the Amazon sample pages and actually show the readers the Story Bits.

I’m not sure how I feel about that because of the US government’s handy-dandy handout. It seems to imply that if the copyright notice isn’t at the front of the book, one loses legal standing in court against the “Once the story was done, I didn’t read the pages after. Who does? I didn’t realize it was there! It was an honest mistake that I stole/plagiarized this stuff! Really!”

I’ll worry about the file placement later. I’ve got some time.

And I’m still thinking about buying Anathema, and maybe adapting some of those “don’t you plagiarize my stuff, you nasty pirate you, or this curse will fall upon your head!”

Knowing my luck if I adapted something from Anathema, someone would pirate my work, get foot fungus and then sue me for witchcraft, magical assault via the use of mystical curses, emotional embarrassment and pain and irritation that hinders day-to-day living.

So, anyway, after paging through books, this is my own front matter I’ve constructed. I’ve got 2 options because I write pure fantasy, but I also have a contemporary romance line concept (option 2) and an alternative history steampunk concept (option 2).

We’ll see how things go down the line.


TITLE

Published by BUSINESS NAME, ADDRESS and WEB ADDRESS HERE

option 1

This is a work of fiction. All characters, places events, dialogue, organizations, business establishments and entities are products of the author’s imagination, entirely fictional and are not intended to depict actual events. In all other respects any resemblance to places, events, organizations, business establishments and entities or persons, living or dead is strictly coincidental.

option 2

This is a work of fiction. All characters, places events, dialogue, organizations, business establishments and entities, with the exception of well-known public figures, places events organizations, business establishments and entities, are entirely fictional and are not intended to depict actual events. Where real-life public figures, places events organizations, business establishments and entities appear, the situations and dialogues concerning them are entirely fictional and are not intended to depict actual events or to change the entirely fictional nature of the work. In all other respects any resemblance to places, events, organizations, business establishments and entities or persons, living or dead is strictly coincidental.

Copyright © DATE by BUSINESS NAME

Without limiting the rights under copyright above, no part of this publication may be reproduced, stored in or introduced into a retrieval system, or transmitted, in any form, or by any means (electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise), without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. The scanning, uploading and distribution of this book via the Internet or via any other means is illegal and punishable by law.

Thank you for purchasing only authorized electronic and/or print editions and not participating in or encouraging the use of piracy of copyrighted materials. Your support of the author’s rights allows the author to continue creating new works for your enjoyment and is greatly appreciated.

BUSINESS LOGO – Registered Trademark

Library of Congress Cataloguing-In-Publication Data:

REGISTERED UNDER NAME

WORK TITLE/AUTHOR NAME

LIBRARY OF CONGRESS DATA HERE

ISBN

Cover Art by:

About kattywampusbooks

A SAHM with delusions of literacy.
This entry was posted in Random, research, Writer, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pondering Front Matter (3)

  1. “I just thought folks might be interested in the verbage of what I came up with for my junk.”

    This sounds dirty. 😉

    I have honestly never thought that much about it. I just copy what I see from other books. 😐

    Like

  2. I would think “back matter” being defined as “junk” would be dirtier. ;-P

    Like

Leave a Reply

