Unexpected Issues

I was going to spout off about EIN’s today, but my daughter is sick. She woke at 3am with a cough and fever. That means she’s staying home today.

And my in-laws have hooked her on an insipid show involving singing vegetables.

It’s already difficult writing when I have childroon chirping and demanding something every ten written words, but with a background of trite singing vegetables …

Guh. It’s impossible to concentrate on writing a fight scene, or a romantic moment, or even a bit of humor relevant to the story.

Okay. “Impossible” is a strong word. Nothing is really impossible so much as “statistically improbable.” I can power through editing chapter 22 of the second fantasy book, it’s just going to take 5-6 hours instead of 3-4.

I don’t have “My Own Space.” I have a corner in the TV room. My desk is shoved into the corner, my books and files are stacked and lined up as neatly as I can manage, and the floor is similarly decorated. So concentrating on writing is shot until the girl child is back in school.

Summer is also an intensely difficult time of year, because both kids are out of school and day-care isn’t much of an option. To be fair, some of my ideas for pieces of stories – how to get from point A to point D in a fashion that is both entertaining and at least vaguely relevant while trying to keep children’s brains from leaking out of their ears by watching endless re-runs of vegetable-based shows or superhero X flavor of the week on TV does sometimes occur while at the aquarium, the zoo, the pool, the nature center, the doctor’s office, blah, blah, blah. So one can say that inspiration is everywhere if you look hard enough (trust me – when you’re trying to keep two children from killing each other or themselves, it is very easy to want to be anywhere else and thus, part of your mind can actually  break off and wander about for a bit because- “Stop doing that! One of you is going to fall and die and I’m not cleaning it up!” Where was I?).

Today will probably not be as productive as I would like, but I hope to get a few pieces edited. Some forward movement is better than none at all.

I am now being summoned away from the computer in order to snuggle. While my senses are bombarded by singing vegetables.

There’s a torture scene just waiting to come out for one of my stories somewhere … I know it.

About kattywampusbooks

A SAHM with delusions of literacy.
This entry was posted in Random, Writer, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

